Home / Member Services / Member Opportunities / OHA Awards / Environmental Sustainability Awards
Environmental Sustainability Awards feature image OHA Energy Program Director Nolan Rutschilling (right), presented Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center's Aparna Dial with the 2019 John Chapman Award.

Environmental Sustainability Awards

The OHA Environmental Leadership Council supports the following awards to recognize hospitals and health systems for responsible use and protection of the natural environment through conservation and sustainable practices.

Melvin Creeley Award

The Melvin Creeley Award recognizes hospitals and health systems that promote sound environmental practices through the implementation of energy efficiency programs, waste reduction strategies, recycling initiatives and other activities to preserve the health of the planet for future generations.

The award is named after former hospital CEO Melvin Creeley, who served on OHA's Board of Trustees, including as board chair, and who was the first chairperson of OHA’s Environmental Leadership Council, a committee of OHA’s governing Board, created more than 15 years ago. He also served on the Board of other OHA affiliates including its Research and Educational Foundation.

Eligibility and How to Apply

OHA’s Environmental Leadership Council invites hospitals and health systems to apply online for the Melvin Creeley Award. The deadline for submissions is March 18. Click here to view a PDF verion of the application. Apply here.

To be eligible for the award, hospitals must have signed the OHA Energy Program’s authorization form to allow benchmarking by ENERGY STAR.

Award Winners

  • Barnesville Hospital
  • Cleveland Clinic
  • Community Hospitals and Wellness Centers
  • Fairfield Medical Center
  • Henry County Hospital
  • Mercy Health - Youngstown Region
  • Mount Carmel Health System
  • Nationwide Children’s Hospital
  • OhioHealth Riverside Methodist Hospital 
  • Premier Health Atrium Medical Center
  • Premier Health Miami Valley Hospital
  • Summa Health 
  • TriHealth 

John Chapman Award for Environmental Leadership

The John Chapman Award for Environmental Leadership recognizes a hospital or health system for excellence in initiating or supporting pollution prevention programs. The award is named after John Chapman or “Johnny Appleseed,” who planted thousands of apple trees across the Midwest during the 19th century.

Recipients of the Melvin Creeley Award will be considered for OHA’s highest environmental leadership award if they provide supporting data and a written program narrative as requested in the online application.

John Chapman Award Winners

2019: The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center
The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center is recognized for their significant progress in energy and waste reduction, saving over $2 million annually by composting, repurposing medical devices and reusing materials. OSUWMC utilizes energy conservation measures, green cleaning materials, an internal green team, and green construction requirements to significantly reduce their carbon footprint. A 2018 Melvin Creeley Award winner, OSUWMC made a significant amount of progress over one year, demonstrating a strong commitment to sustainability. 

2018: Cleveland Clinic
The health system earned the award for its achievements in energy efficiency, pollution prevention and waste reduction. The health system established a $7.5 million Green Revolving Fund, the largest established fund of its kind in the health care industry. The Green Revolving Fund invests in energy efficiency projects to reduce energy consumption while reinvesting the money saved into future projects. As projects pull money from the fund, it is replenished by reinvesting tracked savings from reduced energy consumption, in addition to any rebates received.

2017: University Hospitals Ahuja Medical Center
2016: Wright-Patterson Medical Center
2015: Mercy Health Youngstown
2014: University Hospitals
2013: Mount Carmel Health System
2012: Mercy Medical Center
2011: Cleveland Clinic
2010: OhioHealth
2009: Barnesville Hospital
2008: Huron Hospital
2007: Lake Hospital System
2006: Fairfield Medical Center
2005: The Christ Hospital
2004: Cathleen Nelson, president and chief executive officer, St. Charles Mercy Hospital of Oregon
2003: Melvin R. Creeley, president and chief executive officer, East Liverpool City Hospital
2002: Patrick Martin, president and chief executive officer, Fisher-Titus Medical Center

Award Presentation

OHA announced the Melvin Creeley and John Chapman Award recipients in April and recognized the 2019 winners at the OHA Energy and Sustainability luncheon during the OHA Annual Meeting in Columbus. Click here to see pictures from the event.