Home / Member Services / Member Opportunities / OHA Awards / Albert E. Dyckes Health Care Worker of the Year
Albert E. Dyckes Health Care Worker of the Year feature image

Albert E. Dyckes Health Care Worker of the Year

OHA’s Albert E. Dyckes Health Care Worker of the Year Award is presented each year to one Ohio caregiver who personifies a leader, motivates colleagues, influences others, provides valuable service and contributes, personifies the mission, vision and values of the organization, and has an impact in their community.

2023 Health Care Worker of the Year Presentation

After a brief hiatus in 2022, OHA has opened the call for nominations for the 2023 Albert E. Dyckes Health Care Worker of the Year. See the nomination process section below to learn more. The award will be presented at OHA's 108th Annual Meeting & Education Summit. 


Each member hospital is invited to nominate one individual who has not been nominated previously by that organization. Health systems may submit one nomination on behalf of each of their member hospitals, or select one nominee to represent the entire health system.

Eligible persons must be a current employee of an OHA member hospital. The nominee should be a direct caregiver but that is not a requirement. Employed physicians are eligible to be nominated and receive the award. Support personnel are also eligible if they exemplify the qualities represented by this award.

How to Submit a Nomination

In addition to completing the online nomination, two digital photographs of the nominee must be submitted by the deadline:

  • Headshot - a front-on photograph of the nominee with minimal or no surroundings

  • Environmental - an action shot to show the nominee doing his or her job in the work setting. Photos that include patient interaction are encouraged. Please edit out any protected health information.

  • Photograph tips

Judging Criteria

A panel of outside reviewers will rate each nomination based on the narrative provided for each of the following criteria. Each nomination should highlight the nominee's most notable achievements and describe how the nominee embodies the following qualities of the Health Care Worker of the Year:

  • Motivation – Describe the nominee’s ability to motivate and inspire colleagues, partners, etc. to advance the mission of the organization (Emphasize their passion for a cause, resilience to overcome an issue, etc.)
  • Influence – Describe the nominee’s ability to influence others such as serving as a role model or mentoring others.
  • Action – Explain the nominee’s service and contributions that reflect merit recognition as a noteworthy health care workers including accomplishments despite obstacles.
  • Alignment – Describe the nominee’s actions to support the mission, vision, and values of the organization and emphasize a specific example(s) of contributions towards a specific value.
  • Community Impact – Describe the impact of the nominee’s contributions to the community your organization serves such as a program or initiative that had an impactful result in the community.

In addition, you will be asked to provide a brief summary and photos that will be used in a keepsake publication, on the OHA website and in OHA publications. 

2021 Health Care Worker of the Year Presentation

In place of honoring one health care worker with the Albert E. Dyckes Health Care Worker of the Year award, OHA inducted the entire Ohio hospital workforce– the more than 251 thousand Ohioans we are proud to call hospital caregivers – into the Hall of Fame. The OHA Health Care Hall of Fame presentation was held in November during the Healing Ohio Together Ceremony.