Home / Member Services / Member Opportunities / OHA Awards / Occupational Safety Awards
Occupational Safety Awards feature image 2018 Occupational Safety Campaign Group Winners celebrate at the OHA Annual Meeting.

Occupational Safety Awards

The Ohio Hospital Association Safety Leadership Council aims to increase occupational safety awareness and reduce employee injuries in the hospital workplace. The council presents the following awards recognizing demonstrated leadership in the field of occupational safety. 

Hospital Occupational Safety Campaign

The Ohio Hospital Association Safety Leadership Council invites hospitals to join the Statewide Hospital Occupational Safety Campaign as an opportunity to earn statewide recognition for improving safety in the workplace.

The annual campaign, created in 1953 by OHA and the Ohio Industrial Commission, promotes workplace safety by generating comparable employee injury data for hospitals throughout the state so members can learn from peer facilities and by recognizing successful hospital occupational safety programs.

OHA recognizes the hospital with the lowest Total Recordable Incident Rate in each group at the association's annual meeting in Columbus.

How to Join

Signing up is easy. Submit a copy of your OSHA Form 300A Summary Report(s) or PERRP Form(s) to Sharon.Corkrean@ohiohospitals.org by March 15 of each calendar year.

The campaign is based on data acquired from each hospital’s OSHA 300A Summary Report or, for government-owned hospitals, the form issued by the Ohio Public Employment Risk Reduction Program, or PERRP.

Hospitals participating in the campaign are grouped based on the total number of hours worked by all employees. OHA uses work-related illness and injury information to calculate comparable injury data for hospitals in each group.



Group 1:  Diley Ridge Medical Center  
Group 2: Summa St. Thomas Hospital 
Group 3: Daniel Drake Center for Post-Acute Care (UC Health)
Group 4: Blanchard Valley Hospital 
Group 5: Mercy Medical Center 
Group 6: Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center


Group 1: Diley Ridge Medical Center
Group 2: Ohio Valley Home Health Services East Liverpool
Group 3: Summa Health System
Group 4: Licking Memorial Hospital
Group 5: Marietta Memorial Hospital
Group 6: Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center

William C. Kelley Safety Leadership Award

OHA member hospitals participating in both the OHA Annual Safety Award Program and the Workers’ Compensation Benchmarking Program are eligible to receive the William C. Kelley Safety Leadership Award. The award recognizes demonstrated leadership in the field of occupational and employee safety.

Click to learn more about the OHA Workers' Compensation Benchmarking Program.

Past Recipients

2018: Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center
2017: ProMedica BayPark Hospital
2016: University Hospitals Regional Hospitals - Bedford Medical Center

Prior to 2016, the William C. Kelley Safety Leadership Award was presented as one of the OHA Health Care Leadership Awards to recognize demonstrated leadership in the field of community, occupational, patient or visitor safety.

2011: Kelly Shroll, director of Support Services and Safety Officer, Blanchard Valley Hospital
2010: Uma Kotagal, senior vice president, Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center
2008: Terry Gordon, DO, cardiologist, Akron General Medical Center
2007: Francis V. Dono, DO, medical director, Quality and Patient Safety, OhioHealth
2006: Michael Hildreth, director of Biomedical Engineering, MedCentral Health System
2005: Wayne Wheeler, MD, medical director, External and Governmental Affairs, Southern Ohio Medical Center
2004: Timothy Brown, pharmacotheraphy specialist, Akron General Medical Center