Home / Member Services / Member Opportunities / OHA Awards / Patient Safety Awards
Patient Safety Awards feature image Representatives from Cleveland Clinic, Cleveland Clinic Fairview Hospital and Nationwide Children's Hospital accepted OPSI 2019 Best Practice Awards at the OHA Annual Meeting.

Patient Safety Awards

The Ohio Patient Safety Institute's Board of Trustees sponsors the Dr. Frank Dono Best Practice Award to recognize outstanding efforts to improve patient safety in Ohio.

OPSI presents the award to the individual or organization that has designed and implemented the most innovative, evidence-based patient safety practice in Ohio.

How to Apply

The Ohio Patient Safety Institute invites hospitals, health systems, physicians, long term care, outpatient facilities and home health care to apply for the annual Dr. Frank Dono Best Practice Award. All applications must be submitted online by Dec. 31.
Award submissions must include a project summary, description of the performance improvement process, an explanation of the data analytics used (measurable goals, use of benchmarks, etc.), verifiable results and sustainability, and a report of the lessons learned.

All submissions will become the property of the Ohio Patient Safety Institute and may be used in OPSI's Learning Library activities to share best practices.

Award Presentation

An awards committee will review all applications to select the finalists and ultimate recipient which will be announced in March.

The award will be presented during the OHA Annual Meeting June 7-9, 2021

Click here to see pictures from the 2019 event.

Award Winners

2020: Cleveland Clinic Fairview Hospital (Cleveland) and University Hospitals (Cleveland) 

2019: Cleveland Clinic, Cleveland Clinic Fairview Hospital and Nationwide Children's Hospital

2018: Licking Memorial Health Systems
and Cleveland Clinic
Honorable Mentions: Cleveland Clinic Akron General, Cleveland Clinic Lutheran Hospital and Cleveland Clinic Union Hospital

2017: Summa Health
Honorable Mentions: Cleveland Clinic Fairview Hospital, Nationwide Children’s Hospital, OhioHealth Grant Medical Center

2016: Dayton Children's Hospital

2015: Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center and OhioHealth Riverside Methodist Hospital
Honorable Mentions: OhioHealth and Summa Akron City Hospital

2014: Summa Health

2013: Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center (Non-Acute Care Category); University Hospitals Rainbow Babies and Children's Hospital and Summa Health (Acute Care Category)

2012: OhioHealth Riverside Methodist Hospital and Summa Akron City Hospital

2011: University Hospitals Case Medical Center

2010: Aultman Hospital

2009: Dayton Children's Hospital