Home / Member Services / OHA Awards / Health Care Leadership Awards

Health Care Leadership Awards

Each year, the Ohio Hospital Association celebrates outstanding achievements that have enhanced and brought honor to Ohio hospitals. These awards reflect excellent personal or organizational accomplishments within the Ohio hospital community.

Awards are presented during the OHA Recognition Dinner during the annual meeting in Columbus. 

2017 Donald R. Newkirk Award

This award recognizes and honors an individual who has made a significant lifetime contribution to the health care field in Ohio. This award bears the name of the individual who headed OHA for 27 years, from 1962-1989. The award is given to an individual with multiple years of health care service who has made a significant impact in his or her hospital, the local community AND across the state of Ohio. 

Jim Pancoast Headshot

James Pancoast, FACHE
Retired President and CEO
Premier Health

Pancoast has more than 35 years of health care experience, joining Premier Health in 1979. He was named president and CEO of Premier in 2011, after serving as chief operating officer of the health system; president and CEO of Good Samaritan Hospital and Samaritan Health Partners; president of Premier HealthNet; president of Fidelity Healthcare; and controller at Miami Valley Hospital. Jim retired from Premier Health in 2016.

Leading the largest health system in southwest Ohio with a mission to build healthier communities, Pancoast worked with the Board of Trustees and administration to foster more of a system approach for appropriate governance, clinical integration and operations; established more leadership positions for physicians; and helped lead efforts to put a population health approach in place that included Premier Health Group and Premier Health Plan, an insurance plan designed to be a vehicle to help improve the health of plan members.

Pancoast joined the OHA Board of Trustees in 2005, serving as a trustee-at-large representing the southwest region until 2007. In 2008 he was appointed to OHA’s Health Care Reform Task Force. Pancoast served as OHA’s board chair (2013), chair-elect (2012) and secretary/treasurer (2011). In 2012, during his tenure as chair-elect, he served as chair of the Friends of Ohio Hospitals Steering Committee. He was also a member of several OHA Board committees including executive, governance, and compensation. Pancoast served as Page 4 of 4 – OHA 2017 Awards chair of the OHA Institute for Health Innovation Board of Directors in 2016. He is the recipient of the 2014 AHA Ohio Grassroots Champion Award.

Pancoast earned a bachelor’s degree in accounting from The Ohio State University and an MBA from Michigan State University. He is a certified public accountant, and a Fellow of the American College of Healthcare Executives. Pancoast has served on the boards of numerous professional and community organizations at the local, state, and national levels including Dayton Development Coalition, Dayton Foundation, Dayton Area Chamber of Commerce, Greater Dayton Area Hospital Association, the Dayton Business Committee, the American Hospital Association Regional Policy Board and the Dayton Art Institute


2017 James R. Castle Distinguished Service Award

This recognition honors an individual whose professional attainments embody qualities of an outstanding leader or mentor for service to the health care community, or other special achievement. This award is named for OHA’s president and CEO for 23 years, from 1989 through 2011. This award is given to an individual who has made a significant impact in his or her hospital, local community or region of the state. 

Cynthia Moore-Hardy Headshot

Cynthia Moore-Hardy, FACHE
President and CEO
Lake Health

Moore-Hardy joined Lake Health in 1988 and was appointed president and CEO in 1997. She previously served as the system's executive vice president and chief operating officer. She is a Fellow in the American College of Healthcare Executives and is a member of the American Hospital Association. She has been recognized by: Modern Healthcare's Top 25 Minority Executives in Healthcare; American College of Healthcare Executives Regent's Award; Visiting Nurses Association’s Distinguished Woman in Healthcare; Inside Business Power 100 list; Crain's Cleveland Business Woman of Note; Leadership Lake County Leader of the Year; Cleveland State University's Outstanding Alumnus of the Nance School of Business; Crain’s Cleveland Business Healthcare Heroes Administrator of the Year; Inside Business 100 Most Influential CEO’s, Politicians and Civic Leaders; the YWCA of Greater Cleveland’s Woman of Achievement Award; and the United Way of Lake County Outstanding Woman Leader of the Year.

Moore-Hardy earned her bachelor’s degree in nursing from The Ohio State University and a master's degree in business administration from Cleveland State University. Moore-Hardy served a term on the OHA Board of Trustees as a trustee-at-large from 2001 to 2003. She returned to the board in 2012 and has served as chair of the governance committee and nominating committee. In 2016 she served as chair of the board and currently is serving as immediate past chair.

2017 Dr. Eli Crew Community Service Excellence Award

The award recognizes an individual or a group serving as friends of hospitals or health systems and whose support of the health care industry reflects the public interest. Dr. Eli R. Crew, superintendent of Dayton’s Miami Valley Hospital, was one of the strongest hospital advocates of an Ohio-based organization. In 1914, he invited Ohio hospital administrators to an organizational meeting at Cedar Point in Sandusky where OHA was founded. 

Walk With a Doc Logo

Walk with a Doc (Mount Carmel Health System)

Walk with a Doc was created in 2005 by David Sabgir, MD, FACC, cardiologist with Mount Carmel Health System. Frustrated with his inability to effect behavior change in the clinical setting, Sabgir invited his patients to go for a walk with him in a local park. To his surprise, over 100 people showed up, energized and ready to move. Since that first event at Highbanks Metro Park in Columbus, Walk with a Doc has grown as a grassroots effort, with a model based on sustainability and simplicity. Walks are an hour long, with the physician leader giving a short, health-related talk at the beginning of the program then spending the rest of the hour walking with the participants and answering questions. Healthy snacks, coffee and blood pressure checks are also a standard part of a Walk with a Doc event. The Walk added an executive director in 2009 and focused on building a program that could easily be implemented by interested doctors in other cities around the country. Because of these efforts, the reach of Walk with a Doc now extends from California to New York with over 277 chapters in between.

© 2018 The Ohio Hospital Association. All Rights Reserved.