Hospital Leaders Elected to OHA’s Board of Trustees, OhioHealth Executive Mike Louge to Chair Board

Columbus, Ohio - 43215 – The Ohio Hospital Association, the united voice of Ohio’s 237 hospitals and 13 health systems, announces new officers and welcomes two new members to its Board of Trustees for next year.

Mike Louge, executive vice president and chief operating officer, OhioHealth (Columbus) will chair the board beginning Jan. 1, 2019. Ed Roth, president and CEO, Aultman Health Foundation (Canton) is chair-elect and Rick Lofgren, MD, president and CEO, UC Health (Cincinnati) will serve as secretary/treasurer. Bruce White, CEO, Knox Community Hospital (Mount Vernon) transitions to immediate past chair. Board officers serve one-year terms. 

New trustees-at-large elected by OHA membership include Mark Clement, president and CEO, TriHealth (Cincinnati) and Deborah Feldman, president and CEO, Dayton Children’s Hospital (Dayton). OHA trustees re-elected for a new three-year term include Patti Finn, CEO, Fulton County Health Center (Wauseon) and David McQuaid, CEO, The Ohio State University Health System, COO, The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center (Columbus).

All 2019 board terms begin Jan. 1. The OHA Board of Trustees sets policy and strategic direction for matters affecting hospitals throughout Ohio. The board includes representatives from small and large hospitals, urban and rural hospitals, teaching facilities and independent facilities and health care systems. The board consists of four officers, the OHA president and CEO and 12 trustees-at-large. 

“OHA’s board this month adopted a new three-year strategic plan for OHA committing to advocacy, economic sustainability, and patient safety and health care quality as our organization’s leading priorities,” said Mike Abrams, OHA president and CEO. “In partnership with our member hospitals across Ohio, we saved more than 3,172 lives through our work to reduce sepsis mortality and launched a statewide opioid response initiative under the priorities OHA’s board identified in our previous plan. I am confident significant progress will continue to be made. The leadership and dedication of our board officers and trustees will be instrumental in guiding implementation of our strategic initiatives as new state policymakers take office next year.” 

In his executive management role at OhioHealth, Louge is charged with successfully developing and executing the strategy for growth and assuring the organizational vision is linked to operations. Louge has responsibility for Population Health, which includes the OhioHealth Group, Managed Care, Employer Services, Care Management and the OhioHealthy Health Plan. He also oversees Shared Services, Nursing, Integration Implementation and operations for the Central Ohio and regional hospitals, as well as serving as the interim leader for OhioHealth Finance. He joined the organization in 2000 as chief financial officer.

Prior to joining OhioHealth, Louge was senior vice president and chief financial officer at SETON Healthcare Network in Austin, Texas, a component of Ascension Health. Previously, he was vice president of Financial Operations at Presbyterian Healthcare System and director of Finance at Presbyterian Hospital in Dallas, Texas. He began his career with Deloitte Haskins & Sells in Dallas. Louge received a bachelor’s degree in accounting from Texas A&M University and has been a CPA since 1982. He is a member of the Texas Society of Certified Public Accountants and Healthcare Financial Management Association and serves on numerous community boards and organizations.

Returning OHA Board Trustees for 2019 include:
  • Mike Abrams, president and CEO, OHA (Columbus) [ex-officio trustee]
  • Randy Arnett, president and CEO, Southern Ohio Medical Center (Portsmouth)
  • Steve Glass, chief financial officer, Cleveland Clinic Foundation
  • Mandy Goble, president and CEO, Mary Rutan Hospital (Bellefontaine)
  • Ed Lamb, president and CEO, Mount Carmel Health System (Columbus) 
  • Fred Manchur, CEO, Kettering Health Network (Dayton)
  • David Phillips, CEO, Barnesville Hospital (Barnesville)
  • Brian Smith, COO, Bon Secours Mercy Health (Cincinnati)
  • John Walsh, project CEO, Quorum Health Corporation