Hospital Leaders Elected to OHA Board of Trustees, Holzer Health System CEO to Serve as Chair in 2023

Columbus, Ohio - 43215 (Dec. 19, 2022) – The Ohio Hospital Association, the united voice of Ohio’s 252 hospitals and 15 health systems, announces new officers and welcomes new members to its Board of Trustees for 2023.
Michael Canady, MBA, FACHE, MD, chief executive officer, Holzer Health System (Gallipolis) was elected chair of the board beginning Jan. 1, 2023. Patricia Finn, CEO, Fulton County Health Center (Wauseon) will be chair-elect and T. Clifford “Cliff” Deveny, MD, president and CEO, Summa Health (Akron) will serve as secretary/treasurer. Board officers serve one-year terms. 
Board-CANADY-300px.jpg Board-FINN-300px.jpg Deveny,-Cliff.jpg
Michael Canady, MBA, FACHE, MD, CEO
Holzer Health System 
Patricia Finn
Fulton County Health Center 
T. Clifford “Cliff” Deveny, MD
President and CEO
Summa Health 

“We are proud to have Dr. Canady as our board chair next year as we embark on important work to ensure a healthy Ohio,” said Mike Abrams, OHA president and CEO. “We thank our new and returning trustees for their service and support of OHA, which collaborates with 252 member hospitals and 15 health systems across Ohio. Despite daunting workforce and public health crises, Ohio hospitals and health systems continue to provide the quality health care all Ohioans deserve.”

New trustees-at-large elected by the OHA membership for three-year terms beginning Jan. 1 include Don Kline, COO, Bon Secours Mercy Health (Lima), Lorraine Lutton, president and CEO, Mount Carmel Health System (Columbus), and Don Malone, MD, president, Cleveland Clinic Ohio Hospitals and Family Health Centers (Cleveland).
Don-Kline-300X300.jpg Lutton-300X300-pxls.jpg Donald-Malone-300X300-pxl-(1).jpg
New Trustee
Don Kline
Bon Secours Mercy Health (Lima)
New Trustee
Lorraine Lutton
President and CEO
Mount Carmel Health System 
New Trustee
Don Malone, MD
Cleveland Clinic Ohio Hospitals and Family Health Centers

Trustees-at-large re-elected by the OHA membership for three-year terms beginning Jan. 1 include John “Jack” Janoso Jr., MBA, president and CEO, Fairfield Medical Center (Lancaster) and Matthew Perry, president and CEO, Genesis HealthCare System (Zanesville). 
Janoso-2022-300X300-for-website.png Matthew-Perry-2021-update-300X300.png
Re-elected Trustee
John “Jack” Janoso Jr., MBA
President and CEO
Fairfield Medical Center 
Re-elected Trustee
Matthew Perry
President and CEO
Genesis HealthCare System 

Returning trustees for 2023 include:
  • Mark Clement, president and CEO, TriHealth (Cincinnati) 
  • Deborah Feldman, president & CEO, Dayton Children's Hospital (Dayton)
  • Ben Gill, president and CEO, Southern Ohio Medical Center (Portsmouth)
  • Jeffrey Graham, president and CEO, Adena Health (Chillicothe) 
  • Matthew Grimshaw, president and CEO, Trinity Health Systems (Steubenville)
  • Lisa Klenke, MBA, RN, CEO, Mercer Health (Coldwater)
  • Stephen Markovich, MD, president and CEO, OhioHealth (Columbus)
  • Cliff Megerian, MD, FACS, CEO, University Hospitals (Cleveland)
  • David Phillips, MBA, president and CEO, WVU Medicine - Barnesville Hospital (Barnesville) and WVU Medicine-Harrison Community Hospital (Cadiz)
Mark-Clement-2020-headshot-300X300.png Feldman,-Debbie.jpg Gill,-Ben-2022-6X8-5.jpg
Mark Clement
President and CEO
Deborah Feldman
President & CEO
Dayton Children's Hospital 
Ben Gill
President and CEO
Southern Ohio Medical Center 
Graham,-Jeff.jpg Grimshaw,-Matt.png Klenke,-Lisa.png
Jeffrey Graham
President and CEO
Adena Health 
Matthew Grimshaw
President and CEO
Trinity Health Systems 
Lisa Klenke, MBA, RN
Mercer Health 
Steve-Markovich-300X300-2022.png Cliff-Megerian-2022-update-300X300-for-website.png Phillips,-Dave.jpg
Stephen Markovich, MD
President and CEO
Cliff Megerian, MD, FACS
University Hospitals 
David Phillips, MBA
President and CEO
WVU Medicine - Barnesville Hospital and WVU Medicine-Harrison Community Hospital

The OHA Board sets policy and strategic direction for matters affecting hospitals throughout Ohio. The board includes representatives from small and large hospitals, urban and rural hospitals, teaching facilities and independent facilities and health care systems. 

Canady joined the OHA board in 2019. He served as board chair-elect in 2022 and as the secretary and treasurer in 2021. He is CEO of Holzer Health System. Prior to being named CEO, he served as chief medical officer for the health system. He joined the Holzer team as chairman of the surgery department in 1996, serving for 11 years. He later served as surgical services director for the entire system for more than two years. Canady joined Holzer in 1995 following four years of service in the United States Navy. 

He is a graduate of the Wake Forest University School of Medicine, Winston-Salem, North Carolina; completed his Bachelor’s in Science from Vanderbilt University, Nashville, Tennessee; and completed a residency in General Surgery at Good Samaritan Hospital in Cincinnati, Ohio. He is Board Certified by the American Board of Surgery and a Fellow of the American College of Surgeons. Canady earned an MBA from the Ohio University College of Business in 2001, became a Certified Physicians Executive in 2014 through the American Association of Physician Leadership Certifying Commission of Medical Management Program, and became a Fellow to the American Association for Physician Leadership in 2019. Canady and his wife, Kim, reside in Gallipolis. 

Holzer Health System is a not-for-profit regional health system consisting of two hospital locations in Gallipolis and Jackson, Ohio; multiple clinical locations; a comprehensive therapy and wellness center; a dental care facility; a variety of long-term care entities including senior care and assisted living establishments in Jackson and Gallipolis; over 160 providers and more than 30 medical specialties and over 2,500 employees.

“This is a tremendous time for health care with serious challenges and opportunities facing hospitals,” said Dr. Canady. “I am honored to be in this leadership role and to work with my peers and colleagues across the state.”