Hospital Leaders Elected to OHA Board of Trustees, UC Health CEO Rick Lofgren, MD to Chair

Columbus, Ohio (43215) – The Ohio Hospital Association, the united voice of Ohio’s 240 hospitals and 14 health systems, announces new officers and welcomes two new members to its Board of Trustees for 2021.
Rick Lofgren, MD, MPH, FACP, president and CEO, UC Health (Cincinnati) will chair the board beginning Jan. 1, 2021. David McQuaid, David McQuaid, RPh, MBA, FACHE, CEO, The Ohio State University Health System (Columbus) is chair-elect and Steve Glass, CFO, Cleveland Clinic Foundation (Cleveland) will serve as secretary/treasurer. Ed Roth, president and CEO, Aultman Health Foundation (Canton) transitions to immediate past chair. Board officers serve one-year terms. 

All board terms begin Jan. 1. The OHA Board of Trustees sets policy and strategic direction for matters affecting hospitals throughout Ohio. The board includes representatives from small and large hospitals, urban and rural hospitals, teaching facilities and independent facilities and health care systems. The board consists of four officers, the OHA president and CEO and 13 trustees-at-large. 

New trustees-at-large elected by OHA membership for three-year terms beginning Jan. 1 include Cliff Deveny, MD, president and CEO, Summa Health (Akron) and Lisa Klenke, CEO, Mercer Health (Coldwater). 

OHA trustees re-elected for a new three-year term beginning Jan. 1 include Jeff Graham, president and CEO, Adena Health (Chillicothe) and Dave Phillips, president and CEO, WVU Medicine - Barnesville Hospital (Barnesville).

“In this unprecedented time, Ohio hospitals are leading Ohio’s health care response to the global pandemic while navigating significant hardships straining workforce, financial and supply resources,” said Mike Abrams, OHA president and CEO. “We look forward to working with Dr. Lofgren and our board to continue leading important patient safety, economic and advocacy strategies to support our mission of collaborating with member hospitals and health systems to ensure a healthy Ohio.”

Lofgren leads UC Health, Greater Cincinnati’s academic health system. In partnership with the University of Cincinnati, UC Health combines clinical expertise and compassion with research and teaching – a combination that provides patients with options for even the most complex situations.

Lofgren is a board-certified internal medicine physician and administrator with nearly 40 years of health care experience with a particular interest health care delivery redesign, operational efficiencies, performance improvement and applied health services/quality research. Lofgren leads the operational healthcare response to COVID-19 across southwest Ohio, serving as the Zone 3 lead in Gov. Mike DeWine’s three-zone approach to managing COVID-19 response.
Lofgren previously served as senior vice president and chief clinical officer for University Health System Consortium, now Vizient, and was responsible for helping UHC members improve the quality, safety, efficiency and effectiveness of their clinical services. Prior to UHC, Lofgren spent eight years at UK HealthCare, the University of Kentucky’s academic health system, joining as chief medical officer in 2004 and later becoming vice president for healthcare operations and chief clinical officer.
Lofgren has held various faculty and administrative posts throughout the Midwest, including the Medical College of Wisconsin, the University of Pittsburgh (and the Pittsburgh VA Medical Center), the University of Minnesota (and the Minneapolis VA Medical Center) and Michigan State University. Lofgren received his undergraduate and medical degrees from the University of Michigan, completed his residency and chief residency at the University of Minnesota and received a master of public health from the University of Minnesota School of Public Health. He serves on the Vizient Board of Managers and the boards of the Association of American Medical Colleges’ Council of Teaching Hospitals and Health Systems, Greater Cincinnati Urban League and the Cincinnati USA Regional Chamber.

Returning OHA Board Trustees for 2021 include:

• Mike Abrams, president and CEO, OHA (Columbus) [ex-officio trustee]
• Michael Canady, MD, CEO, Holzer Health System (Gallipolis)
• Mark Clement, president and CEO, TriHealth (Cincinnati)
• Deborah Feldman, president & CEO, Dayton Children's Hospital (Dayton)
• Patti Finn, CEO, Fulton County Health Center (Wauseon)
• John R. “Jack” Janoso, Jr., president and CEO, Fairfield Medical Center (Lancaster)
• Randy Oostra, president and CEO, ProMedica (Toledo)
• Matthew Perry, president and CEO, Genesis HealthCare System (Zanesville)
• Brian Smith, chief operating officer, Bon Secours Mercy Health (Cincinnati)
• Thomas Strauss, PhD, president and CEO, Sisters of Charity Health System (Cleveland)