Hospital Leaders Elected to OHA's Board of Trustees, Aultman Health Foundation CEO Ed Roth to Chair 2020 Board

Columbus, Ohio - 43215 (Dec. 20, 2019) – The Ohio Hospital Association, the united voice of Ohio’s 236 hospitals and 14 health systems, announces new officers and welcomes three new members to its Board of Trustees for next year.
Ed Roth, president and CEO, Aultman Health Foundation (Canton) will chair the board beginning Jan. 1, 2020. Rick Lofgren, MD, president and CEO, UC Health (Cincinnati) is chair-elect and David McQuaid, CEO, The Ohio State University Health System (Columbus) will serve as secretary/treasurer. Mike Louge, executive vice president and chief operating officer, OhioHealth (Columbus) transitions to immediate past chair. Board officers serve one-year terms.
All board terms begin Jan. 1. The OHA Board of Trustees sets policy and strategic direction for matters affecting hospitals throughout Ohio. The board includes representatives from small and large hospitals, urban and rural hospitals, teaching facilities and independent facilities and health care systems. The board consists of four officers, the OHA president and CEO and 13 trustees-at-large.
New trustees-at-large elected by OHA membership include John R. “Jack” Janoso, Jr., president and CEO, Fairfield Medical Center (Lancaster); Randy Oostra, president and CEO, ProMedica (Toledo); and Matthew Perry, president and CEO, Genesis HealthCare System (Zanesville).
OHA trustees re-elected for a new three-year term include Michael Canady, MD, CEO, Holzer Health System (Gallipolis); Steve Glass, CFO and treasurer, Cleveland Clinic Foundation (Cleveland) and Brian Smith, chief operating officer, Bon Secours Mercy Health (Cincinnati).
“Health care access and innovation are critical for Ohioans. We are fortunate to have Ed Roth lead the member-driven OHA Board of Trustees in 2020 as we research and deploy strategic initiatives impacting health care delivery across our state,” said Mike Abrams, OHA president and CEO. “As the health care landscape evolves at a rapid rate, OHA leverages the insights and expertise of our member leaders to work toward our mission of ensuring a healthy Ohio.”
For more than 40 years, Roth has been part of a team dedicated to providing the Stark County area with excellence and affordability in health care. He began his career with Aultman in 1981 and was named president and chief executive officer in 2001. Since that time, he has led Aultman with a spirit of compassion and a true belief in the power of each individual to make a difference. Roth is responsible for more than 7,500 employees and all entities within Aultman Health Foundation.
A graduate of Canton Central Catholic and the University of Akron, Roth is an active member of the community and a board member of the following agencies and organizations: Akron Regional Hospital Association, Ohio Business Roundtable, The Pro Football Hall of Fame and Stark County Catholic Schools. He has also taken a leadership role in the community and has chaired many organizations and events over the years including: United Way Campaign, Canton Regional Chamber of Commerce, Stark Economic Development Board, The Akron-Canton Regional Foodbank Harvest for Hunger Campaign, The Wilderness Center Earthly Delights Dinner and the Central Catholic High School Capital Campaign.
Returning OHA Board Trustees for 2020 include:
  • Mike Abrams, president and CEO, OHA (Columbus) [ex-officio trustee]
  • Randy Arnett, president and CEO, Southern Ohio Medical Center (Portsmouth)
  • Mark Clement, president and CEO, TriHealth (Cincinnati)
  • Deborah Feldman, president & CEO, Dayton Children's Hospital (Dayton)
  • Patti Finn, CEO, Fulton County Health Center (Wauseon)
  • Jeffrey Graham, president & CEO, Adena Health System (Chillicothe)
  • David Phillips, CEO, WVU Medicine - Barnesville Hospital (Barnesville)
  • Thomas Strauss, PhD, president and CEO, Sisters of Charity Health System (Cleveland)