RECAP: OHA Annual Meeting Day Three

ACHE Awards Breakfast:

On Wednesday, the final day of the Annual Meeting, the American College of Healthcare Executives recognized members for their professional accomplishments:
  • Jeff Hunter, Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center, assistant director, Respiratory Therapy, received the ACHE Regent’s Early Career Healthcare Executive Award.
  • Mona Miliner, UC Health - UC Physicians, executive director of Business Administration, received the ACHE Regent’s Award for Service.
  • Mark Holroyd, MedSpeed, regional vice president, received the ACHE Regent’s Senior Level Healthcare Executive Award.
  • Tom Pishioneri, consultant, Cincinnati Local Program Council received the ACHE Regent’s Award for Service.
ACHE is an international professional society of 40,000 health care executives who lead hospitals, health care systems and other health care organizations.

OHA Board of Trustees Meeting: 

Gov. Mike DeWine joined the Wednesday meeting of the OHA Board of Trustees to outline his administration's plans for improving the health of Ohioans, discuss opportunities for collaboration with Ohio hospitals and field questions from the hospital leaders on the OHA Board.
OPSI Best Practice Awards:

Three OHA member hospitals earned the Ohio Patient Safety Institute’s Dr. Frank Dono Best Practice award presented during OHA’s Quality Summit. The summit was attended by more than 500 leaders and clinical experts from Ohio hospitals who gathered to participate in continuing education sessions.
  • Cleveland Clinic received the OPSI Acute Care Best Practice Award for its development of a new discharge checklist.
  • Cleveland Clinic Fairview Hospital earned the OPSI Patient Engagement Best Practice Award for reducing opiate use in post-operative cesarean section patients.
  • Nationwide Children’s Hospital was recognized with the OPSI Primary Care Best Practice Award winner for its assignment of primary care providers in a pediatric Medicaid population.
The OPSI Best Practice Awards are presented annually to Ohio health care providers that display excellence in the following areas:
  • Improving patient safety
  • Developing innovative programs to improve patient safety
  • Creating best practices that other Ohio health care providers can adopt/adapt
  • Developing a culture of collaboration that improves patient safety
The OPSI Awards are named in honor of Frank Dono, DO, a long-time leader and pioneer of patient safety and quality.

Click here to access pictures from the quality summit.

Click here to access pictures from the governor's visit.