Ohio Hospital Newswire


OHA Honors Ohio Hospitals for Environmental Leadership




The Ohio Hospital Association’s Energy & Sustainability Program this week announced the 2018 Melvin Creeley Environmental Leadership Award recipients and named Cleveland Clinic as the 2018 John Chapman Award winner. The Melvin Creeley Award honorees are:
  • Atrium Medical Center (Middletown)*
  • Barnesville Hospital*
  • Cleveland Clinic*
  • Fairfield Medical Center (Lancaster)
  • Henry County Hospital*
  • Mercy Health – Youngstown*
  • Springfield Regional Medical Center
  • St. Rita's Medical Center (Lima)
  • Mercy St. Vincent Medical Center (Toledo)
  • Miami Valley Hospital (Dayton)*
  • Mount Carmel Health System (Columbus)*
  • The Ohio State Wexner Medical Center*
  • St. Elizabeth Youngstown Hospital
  • Summa Health System (Akron)
  • TriHealth System (Cincinnati)*
  • University Hospitals Samaritan Medical Center
  • Wright-Patterson Medical Center*
Named after OHA Hall of Fame inductee, Melvin Creeley, former CEO from East Liverpool City Hospital and past chair of OHA’s Environmental Leadership Council, the award recognizes hospitals for promoting sound practices through environmental stewardship.
Of the 17 recipients, 10 hospitals—denoted above with an asterisk—were considered for OHA’s John Chapman Award, which recognizes a hospital or health system for demonstrating excellence in initiating or supporting pollution prevention programs. The award is named after John Chapman or “Johnny Appleseed,” who planted thousands of apple trees across the Midwest during the 19th century.
Cleveland Clinic earned the 2018 John Chapman Award for its achievements in energy efficiency, pollution prevention and waste reduction. The health system established a $7.5 million Green Revolving Fund, the largest established fund of its kind in the health care industry.
The Green Revolving Fund invests in energy efficiency projects to reduce energy consumption while reinvesting the money saved into future projects. As projects pull money from the fund, it is replenished by reinvesting tracked savings from reduced energy consumption, in addition to any rebates received.
The awards will be presented at OHA’s 2018 Annual Meeting June 5 in Columbus. For additional information about the awards, OHA’s Environmental Leadership Council or the OHA Energy Program, click here
© 2019 The Ohio Hospital Association. All Rights Reserved.