Ohio Hospital Newswire


OHA Recognizes Ohio Health Care Workers, Hospitals at Annual Meeting




The Ohio Hospital Association presented more than 30 statewide awards this week at our annual meeting in Columbus. More than 1,300 hospital employees, health care leaders and OHA corporate partners attended, exploring programming in 13 educational tracks, earning continuing education credits and networking with peers from around the state to share best practices.
More than 630 hospital administrators and caregivers attended OHA’s annual recognition dinner Tuesday evening where Joseph Jeffries, RPh, pharmacy director, Barnesville Hospital Association Inc., was named the 2018 Health Care Worker of the Year. The statewide award is presented each year to one Ohio caregiver who personifies a leader, goes beyond the call of duty, reflects the mission and values of his or her institution and gives back the community.
Recognizing opioid addiction treatment resources were very limited in rural Ohio, Jeffries had a vision to bring expert drug treatment resources and services to underserved residents in the Barnesville area. He collaborated with community partners, hospital staff, other addiction programs, local police and the judicial system to develop Addiction Services of Eastern Ohio, an outpatient drug treatment center offering withdrawal management, behavioral counseling and medication-assisted treatment to area residents. His enthusiasm, passion and tireless efforts to provide drug treatment options have made a difference in the lives of many patients.
Jeffries was one of five finalists selected from 62 nominees. The 2018 finalists included:
  • Linda Maloy, Avita Health System (Galion)
  • Michelle Stratton, Blanchard Valley Hospital (Findlay)
  • Collins Uzuegbu, Mercy Health Lorain Region
  • Amy Preble, ProMedica Fostoria Community Hospital
OHA also presented three leadership awards at the event and inducted Sr. Judith Ann Karam, CSA, FACHE, congregational leader, Sisters of Charity of St. Augustine and immediate past president and CEO, Sisters of Charity Health System, into the OHA Health Care Hall of Fame.
The 2018 Health Care Leadership Award recipients were:
  • The Sepsis Alliance earned the Dr. Eli Crew Community Service Excellence Award for supporting the health care industry and public interest. Sepsis Alliance Board member Jim O’Brien, MD, system vice president of Quality, OhioHealth, accepted the award.
  • Phil Ennen, president and CEO, Community Hospitals & Wellness Centers, received the James R. Castle Distinguished Service Award for his outstanding leadership and service to the health care community.
  • William Considine, FACHE, president and CEO, Akron Children’s Hospital, was honored with the Donald R. Newkirk Award for his significant lifetime contributions to the health care field in Ohio.
At Monday’s Advocacy Luncheon, where hospital leaders heard from U.S. Reps. Steve Stivers (R-Upper Arlington) and Joyce Beatty (D-Columbus), OHA presented two grassroots advocacy awards. Bruce White, CEO, Knox Community Hospital and chair, OHA Board of Trustees, received the 2018 American Hospital Association’s Grassroots Champion Award, which honors a hospital, health system or individual who stands out at the national level by effectively advocating in the legislative and regulatory arenas for the best interests of all hospitals.
The OHA Friends of Ohio Hospitals Political Action Committee presented the 2018 Most Valuable PAC Player Award to Fred Manchur, chief executive officer, Kettering Health Network, for his outstanding efforts during the 2017 fundraising campaign. Jean Halpin, president, OhioHealth Mansfield Hospital and OhioHealth Shelby Hospital, received the 2018 Leadership through Advocacy award for her demonstrated commitment to shared advocacy goals during the 2018-2019 state budget negotiations.
During the Energy and Sustainability luncheon Tuesday, Cleveland Clinic received OHA’s 2018 John Chapman Award. The OHA Environmental Leadership Council created the John Chapman Award in 2002 to recognize Ohio hospitals for environmental leadership, including their achievements in energy efficiency, pollution prevention and waste reduction.
In addition, OHA recognized 12 Ohio hospitals that achieved Energy Star status:
  • Adena Greenfield Medical Center
  • Barnesville Hospital
  • Firelands Regional Medical Center (Sandusky)
  • Good Samaritan Hospital (Cincinnati)
  • Mercy Medical Center (Canton)
  • Mercy Tiffin Hospital
  • Mercy Willard Hospital
  • Miami Valley Hospital South (Centerville)
  • ProMedica Bay Park Hospital (Oregon)
  • Southern Ohio Medical Center (Portsmouth)
  • Summa St. Thomas Hospital (Akron)
  • Ohio State University Hospital East (Columbus)
The Energy Star® rating assesses the energy performance of a property relative to its peers, considering the climate, weather and business activities at the property. To identify the aspects of building activity that are significant drivers of energy use and then normalize for those factors, a statistical analysis of the peer building population is performed. The Energy Star® Score for Hospitals applies to general medical and surgical hospitals, including critical access hospitals and children’s hospitals.
The final award presented at the three-day event was the Ohio Patient Safety Institute’s 2018 Dr. Frank Dono Best Practice Award. Both the Cleveland Clinic and Licking Memorial Health Systems earned this honor for their work to improve health care outcomes. Created by OPSI’s Board of Trustees, the OPSI Best Practice Award recognizes a program that has demonstrated a focus on improving patient safety in a health care setting, while incorporating regional and national patient safety benchmarks and remaining unique to the Ohio health care market.
For further details, please check out the OHA news releases.
© 2019 The Ohio Hospital Association. All Rights Reserved.