Ohio Hospital Newswire


Rep. Ryan Smith Elected House Speaker




The Ohio House on Wednesday elected Rep. Ryan Smith (R-Bidwell) to serve as speaker for the remainder of the 132nd General Assembly.
Smith’s election came on the 11th ballot and followed weeks of discussion on how – and whether – the chamber would elect a successor to former Speaker Cliff Rosenberger, who resigned his post in April in the face of an FBI inquiry into his activities.
In the final tally, Smith secured 44 votes, followed by Reps. Fred Strahorn (D-Dayton) with 27, Andy Thompson (R-Marietta) with 13 and Jim Hughes (R-Columbus) with 7.
© 2019 The Ohio Hospital Association. All Rights Reserved.