First Steps for Healthy Babies
Maternity Care Best Practice Award 2016 - Recognized Hospitals

The Ohio First Steps for Healthy Babies is a voluntary breastfeeding designation program that recognizes maternity centers in Ohio for taking steps to promote, protect, and support breastfeeding in their organization. A star is awarded for every two steps achieved in the Ten Steps to Successful Breastfeeding, as defined by the World Health Organization and Baby-Friendly USA. Hospitals can earn five stars as a part of this effort. The initiative encourages maternity centers across the state to promote and support breastfeeding one step at a time along with the option to select which steps, some or all, to adopt.

This recognition is for facilities that do not provide any formula company-sponsored gift/diaper bags, which often include formula and/or formula company-sponsored materials. This includes gifts with formula company logos, such as breastfeeding covers. Research has shown that distribution of formula marketing materials has been shown to decrease breastfeeding initiation and duration rates.

For a list of recognized hospitals from 2015, click here.

The Ohio Hospital Association, Ohio Department of Health, Ohio Lactation Consultant Association, and Ohio Breastfeeding Alliance are pleased to announce that the following hospitals have achieved recognition as being a "Bag Free" facility in 2016. 

  • Adena Regional Medical Center
  • Akron General Medical Center
  • Atrium Medical Center
  • Clinton Memorial Hospital
  • Community Hospitals and Wellness Centers
  • OhioHealth Doctor's Hospital
  • OhioHealth Dublin Methodist Hospital
  • Fairview Hospital
  • Firelands Regional Medical Center
  • Galion Community Hospital
  • Genesis Healthcare System
  • Good Samaritan Hospital - Dayton
  • OhioHealth Grady Memorial Hospital
  • OhioHealth Grant Medical Center
  • Henry County Hospital
  • Hillcrest Hospital
  • Holzer Health System
  • Joint Township District Memorial Hospital
  • Knox Community Hospital
  • Licking Memorial Hospital
  • Lima Memorial Health System
  • OhioHealth Mansfield Hospital
  • OhioHealth Marion General Hospital
  • Medina Hospital
  • Mercer Health
  • Mercy Health Anderson Hospital
  • Mercy Health Fairfield Hospital
  • Mercy Medical Center
  • Mercy Regional Hospital
  • Mercy Health West Hospital

  • MetroHealth
  • Miami Valley Hospital
  • Miami Valley Hospital South
  • Mount Carmel East
  • Mount Carmel St. Ann's
  • Mount Carmel West
  • OSU Wexner Medical Center
  • OhioHealth Riverside Methodist Hospital
  • OhioHealth Shelby Hospital
  • Southview Medical Center
  • Southwest General Health Center
  • St. Elizabeth Boardman Hospital
  • St. Joseph Warren Hospital
  • St. Luke's Hospital
  • Summa Akron City Hospital
  • TriPoint Medical Center - Lake Health
  • Trumbull Memorial Hospital
  • UH Elyria Medical Center
  • UH Geauga Medical Center
  • UH MacDonald Women's Hospital
  • UH Portage Medical Center
  • UH St. John Medical Center
  • University of Cincinnati Medical Center
  • Upper Valley Medical Center
  • Wayne Healthcare
  • West Medical Center - Lake Health
  • Wilson Health
  • Wright-Patterson Medical Center
  • Wooster Community Hospital

Congratulations to our 2016 recognized hospitals!

(Hospital staff accepting 2016 awards at the Annual OLCA conference on March 17, 2017)

If your facility was 'Bag Free' in 2016, and would like recognition, please contact Ryan Everett

First Steps Homepage

© 2018 The Ohio Hospital Association. All Rights Reserved.