First Steps for Healthy Babies Recognized Hospitals

The Ohio First Steps for Healthy Babies is a voluntary breastfeeding designation program that recognizes maternity centers in Ohio for taking steps to promote, protect, and support breastfeeding in their organization. A star is awarded for every two steps achieved in the Ten Steps to Successful Breastfeeding, as defined by the World Health Organization and Baby-Friendly USA. Hospitals can earn five stars as a part of this effort. The initiative encourages maternity centers across the state to promote and support breastfeeding one step at a time along with the option to select which steps, some or all, to adopt.

The Ohio Hospital Association and the Ohio Department of Health are pleased to announce the following hospitals have been awarded recognition from the
Ohio First Steps for Healthy Babies Review Committee.

 Five Star Hospitals:

Atrium Medical Center - Premier Health
OhioHealth Doctors Hospital*

Fairview Hospital - Cleveland Clinic*
Hillcrest Hospital - Cleveland Clinic*
Licking Memorial Hospital*

University Hospitals - MacDonald Women's Hospital*
Mercy Health - Anderson Hospital* 
Mercy Health - Fairfield Hospital*
St. Luke's Hospital
Southview Medical Center - Kettering*

Summa Akron City Hospital*
University of Cincinnati Medical Center*

 Four Star Hospitals:

Adena Regional Medical Center
OhioHealth Dublin Methodist Hospital
Firelands Regional Medical Center
Good Samaritan Hospital - Premier Health
Kettering Medical Center
Lima Memorial Hospital
Miami Valley Hospital - Premier Health
Miami Valley Hospital South - Premier Health
West Chester Medical Center - UC Health
Upper Valley Medical Center - Premier Health

 Three Star Hospitals:

Community Hospitals & Wellness Centers - Bryan Hospital
Fulton County Health Center
University Hospitals - Elyria Medical Center 
OhioHealth Grant Medical Center
OhioHealth Mansfield Hospital
Memorial Health
Mercy Regional Medical Center
Southwest General Health Center
Wilson Health

 Two Star Hospitals:

Aultman Orrville Hospital
Berger Health System
The Christ Hospital
Cleveland Clinic Akron General
Clinton Memorial Hospital
Galion Community Hospital
Joint Township District Memorial Hospital
Knox Community Hospital
Mercy Health - West Hospital
Mercy Medical Center
Mount Carmel East
Mount Carmel St. Ann's
Mount Carmel West
ProMedica Defiance Regional Hospital
Mercy Health - St. Joseph Warren Hospital
St. Rita's Medical Center
TriPoint Medical Center - Lake Health
West Medical Center - Lake Health
Wood County Hospital
Wooster Community Hospital

 One Star Hospitals:

Ashtabula County Medical Center
Blanchard Valley Health System
Fairfield Medical Center
Henry County Hospital
Holzer Medical Center
Mercer Health
Mercy Health - Tiffin Hospital
Mercy St. Charles Hospital
The MetroHealth System
University Hospitals - Parma Medical Center
University Hospitals - Portage Medical Center
ProMedica Toledo Hospital
St. Elizabeth Boardman Hospital
Union Hospital

(*Baby-Friendly USA Designated Hospital)

Back to the First Steps Homepage

© 2017 The Ohio Hospital Association. All Rights Reserved.