Home / Member Services / Member Opportunities / OHA Awards / Health Care Leadership Awards

Health Care Leadership Awards

OHA each year presents three Health Care Leadership Award to honor outstanding individuals and organizations whose achievements have enhanced and brought honor to Ohio hospitals:

  • Donald R. Newkirk Award
  • James R. Castle Distinguished Service Award
  • Dr. Eli Crew Community Service Excellence Award

Presentation of Awards

The 2022 recognitions will be presented June 14 at the 107th OHA Annual Meeting & Education Summit. Click here for details and registration information.

Donald R. Newkirk Award

This award recognizes and honors an individual who has made a significant lifetime contribution to the health care field in Ohio.

This award is named for the man who led OHA for 27 years, from 1962-1989. The award is presented to an individual with multiple years of health care service who has made a significant impact in his or her hospital, the local community and across the state of Ohio. 


Ed Roth
President and CEO (retired)
Aultman Health Foundation

Roth led the Aultman Health Foundation in Canton for 20 years until his retirement on July 1, 2021. Under Ed’s leadership, Aultman has grown from its campus in Canton to a network of facilities that spans seven counties throughout Northeast Ohio. Among many other achievements, that growth includes making Aultman Orrville and Aultman Alliance Community Hospitals part of our system, establishing a collaborative relationship with Akron Children’s and Pomerene Hospitals, opening the Aultman Massillon free-standing emergency department, evolving the Aultman School of Nursing to become Aultman College, establishing The Aultman Foundation, creating the Aultman Specialty Hospital, growing and expanding Aultman Hospital, Aultman Deuble Heart and Vascular Hospital, AultCare and PrimeTime Health Plan, joining with North Canton Medical Group to create Aultman North Canton Medical Center, building Aultman Woodlawn and the Aultman Women’s Board’s Compassionate Care Center and planning the Timken Family Cancer Center. 

Roth joined Aultman Health Foundation in 1981 as materials management director. He held a succession of positions including chief operating officer of Aultman Hospital. In addition, he served as interim chief executive officer of Alliance Community Hospital, managed PrimeTime Health Plan and designed and developed the six-story physicians’ office building on Aultman’s main campus in Canton. He became president and CEO in 2001.

A long-time community leader and a Canton native, Roth served as chair of the Ohio Hospital Association Board of Trustees, vice chair of the Pro Football Hall of Fame Board of Trustees, a member of the Hall of Fame Resort and Entertainment Company Board and a member of the Stark County Catholic Schools Board. His past board and community service with many organizations includes work with the Canton Regional Chamber of Commerce, Stark Development Board, United Way of Stark County, Walsh University, Canton Central Catholic High School, Junior Achievement, the Akron-Canton Regional Foodbank and Team NEO.

James R. Castle Distinguished Service Award

This award bears the name of OHA’s retired president and CEO Jim Castle and honors an individual whose professional attainments embody qualities of an outstanding leader or mentor for service to the community, or other special achievement.


Michael Fisher
President and CEO (retired) 
Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center

Fisher became president and CEO of Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center in 2010. He retired from that position in November 2021. The organization’s patient services, financial strength, and reputation grew significantly under his leadership. For more than a decade while Fisher was CEO, Cincinnati Children’s ranked No. 4 or higher in U.S. News & World Report’s survey of Best Children’s Hospitals. Philanthropy that helps boost research and patient care also grew dramatically under Fisher’s leadership, averaging nearly $50 million annually and hitting an all-time high of $86 million in 2020.

Fisher chaired an international network of more than 140 pediatric hospitals – the Children’s Hospitals’ Solutions for Patient Safety – since its inception over 10 years ago through 2021. The network’s efforts saved more than 18,000 children from serious harm and an estimated $421.9 million in healthcare costs.

A strong advocate for children and healthy communities, Fisher guided the medical center’s effort to help kids in Greater Cincinnati become the nation’s healthiest. In 2021, Cincinnati Children’s launched the HealthVine network of pediatric care providers and organizations, which coordinates excellent, equitable, and value-based care and support services for 135,000 children and their families across Southwest Ohio. 

While leading Cincinnati Children’s, Fisher received numerous honors and recognitions. For example, Modern Healthcare included him among the 100 Most Influential People in Healthcare. And recently, the Cincinnati Business Courier recognized Fisher with the publication’s 2022 Health Care Heroes Lifetime Achievement Award. Fisher has provided board leadership to numerous nonprofit and civic causes. In addition to having been co-chair of the Child Poverty Collaborative, he helped lead the Cincinnati business community task force that outlined how to achieve a robust, inclusive, and safe restart of the local economy amid the pandemic. 

Fisher also has provided board service to a range of companies in the insurance, specialty chemical, distribution, and flexible packaging industries. A Cincinnati native, Fisher is a graduate of Stanford University. He and his wife, Suzette, have four adult children.   

Dr. Eli Crew Community Service Excellence Award

Named after OHA’s first president, Dr. Eli R. Crew, former superintendent of Dayton’s Miami Valley Hospital, this award recognizes an individual or organization who has served as a friend to hospitals and health systems and whose support of the health care industry reflects the public interest.

Ohio National Guard
Ohio has more than 16,000 Soldiers and Airmen in the Ohio National Guard. The National Guard supports local authorities during natural and man-made disasters and deploys for federal homeland defense missions. The COVID-19 pandemic impacted Ohio hospitals significantly in Dec. 2021 through Feb. 2022 resulting in record hospitalizations and increased community spread of Delta and Omicron variants in the state. Nearly 2,000 Guard members assisted at 18 COVID testing centers and 62 hospitals across the state as part of clinical and general support teams. The first teams began on-site hospital support Dec. 22, 2021, and the last teams completed the mission Feb. 22, 2022. OHA worked with our member hospitals to determine needs and coordinated with the Ohio Department of Health and Ohio National Guard to deploy Guard members to hospitals. Ohio hospitals appreciate this important support at a critical time where caregivers are working aggressively to meet the health care needs of our communities.